Eleven Gates
Composed: 2005-2006

Length: ca. 17 minutes

3 flutes (= 3 piccolos), 3 oboes (3rd = English horn), 3 clarinets, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 3 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, contrabass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (bass drum, bongos, car horns, claves, congas, crotales, glass harmonica, glockenspiel, log drum, marimba, Peking opera gong, roto-toms, tam-tam, vibraphone, wood blocks), piano, harp, and strings.

Dedicated to Esa-Pekka Salonen, commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association.
Recording sample
From the album Eleven Gates (BIS SACD-1406) (BIS SACD-1406)